Today: June 23, 2024
June 6, 2024

Election Commission to Submit List of Winning Lok Sabha Candidates to President: Key Steps to Forming the 18th Lok Sabha

The Election Commission of India, led by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, is set to submit the official list of winning Lok Sabha candidates to President Droupadi Murmu on Thursday evening. This pivotal step will mark the commencement of the formal process to constitute the 18th Lok Sabha.

In line with the Union Cabinet’s recommendation, President Murmu ordered the dissolution of the 17th Lok Sabha on Wednesday, paving the way for the new parliamentary body. This dissolution was a necessary procedural step following the completion of the latest parliamentary elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is on the verge of forming the government at the Centre for a third consecutive term. This comes after the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured a clear majority in the recent elections, winning 293 seats. Meanwhile, the opposition alliance, known as the INDIA bloc, managed to secure 234 seats. The outcome of these elections has solidified the NDA’s position and underscored the continued dominance of the BJP under Modi’s leadership.

The submission of the winning candidates’ list to the President is a critical step in the electoral process. Once President Murmu receives the list, it will initiate the formalities required to set up the 18th Lok Sabha. This includes the swearing-in of new members and the subsequent election of the Speaker of the House.

The Election Commission’s officials, after presenting the list to the President, will proceed to Raj Ghat to pay floral tributes. This gesture is a symbolic acknowledgment of the country’s democratic journey and a tribute to the legacy of Mahatma Gandhi.

The conclusion of these elections and the transition to the 18th Lok Sabha signify a significant moment in India’s democratic process. With the BJP’s continued majority, the Modi government is expected to pursue its agenda with renewed vigor. The legislative priorities and policy direction for the upcoming term will be closely watched, as the government addresses both ongoing and emerging challenges facing the nation.

This smooth transition from the 17th to the 18th Lok Sabha reflects the robustness of India’s electoral system and its capacity to manage large-scale democratic processes efficiently. As the new government takes shape, the focus will be on maintaining stability, implementing key policy initiatives, and driving the country’s development agenda forward.

In summary, the Election Commission’s submission of the list of winning candidates to President Murmu marks the beginning of the next chapter in India’s parliamentary history. With Prime Minister Modi set to lead for a third term, the coming years will be crucial in shaping the nation’s future. The ceremonial tribute at Raj Ghat underscores the importance of remembering the principles that guide India’s democracy as it moves forward.

Read more Politics news related news on R9 News

Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri

At our news portal, we strive to be your go-to destination for staying informed about the latest developments, breaking news, and insightful analysis across a diverse range of topics. Whether you're interested in politics, technology, health, entertainment, or global affairs, we've got you covered with comprehensive coverage and in-depth reporting.

Previous Story

Aam Aadmi Party Convenes Crucial MLA Meeting at CM’s Residence

Next Story

Byju’s Faces Bankruptcy Proceedings Initiated by US Lenders

Latest from Blog

Go toTop

Don't Miss

Farmers’ Inclusion in Political Agenda: A Landmark Shift Since 2014, Says CM Adityanath

In a significant declaration, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath

BJP Appoints Election Incharges for Poll-Bound States

In preparation for the upcoming assembly elections, BJP President JP