Today: July 22, 2024
May 19, 2024

Key Constituencies and Political Heavyweights in the Fray: Uttar Pradesh Heads to Phase 5 Polls

On Monday, Uttar Pradesh will witness a critical fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, which will not only determine the future of several significant political figures but also bring about changes in key constituencies. Among the high-profile candidates are four Union ministers and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi. Alongside the parliamentary elections, an assembly bypoll for the Lucknow East constituency is also scheduled.

The constituencies voting in this phase include Mohanlalganj (SC), Rae Bareli, Amethi, Jalaun (SC), Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi (SC), Barabanki (SC), Faizabad, Kaisarganj, and Gonda. Each of these seats holds strategic importance in the broader political landscape of Uttar Pradesh.

Union Ministers and Key Candidates

In this phase, prominent Union ministers such as Defence Minister Rajnath Singh (Lucknow), Minister of Women and Child Development Smriti Irani (Amethi), Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs Kaushal Kishor (Mohanlalganj), and Minister of State for Consumer Affairs Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti (Fatehpur) are contesting. Rahul Gandhi is contesting from Rae Bareli, a seat previously held by his mother and former Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

Voter Demographics and Contest Overview

The phase will see over 2.68 crore voters eligible to exercise their rights, with 144 candidates in the fray. The BJP has re-nominated 11 sitting Lok Sabha MPs while introducing new faces in the Barabanki (SC) and Kaisarganj constituencies.

In contrast, the INDIA bloc’s lineup includes Congress candidates K L Sharma (Amethi), Tanuj Punia (Barabanki SC), and Pradeep Jain ‘Aditya’ (Jhansi). The Samajwadi Party (SP) is fielding candidates in the remaining seats, presenting a robust challenge to the incumbents.

Spotlight on Key Battles

  • Lucknow: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, eyeing a fourth term, faces SP’s Ravidas Mehrotra.
  • Amethi: Smriti Irani seeks to retain her seat against Congress’s K L Sharma.
  • Rae Bareli: Rahul Gandhi looks to reclaim his stronghold.
  • Kaisarganj: BJP’s Karan Bhushan Singh competes against SP’s Bhagat Ram.
  • Faizabad: BJP MP Lallu Singh aims for a third term, contending with SP’s Awadhesh Prasad.
  • Hamirpur: BJP’s Kunwar Pushpendra Singh Chandel faces SP’s Ajendra Singh Lodhi.
  • Gonda: BJP’s Kirti Vardhan Singh, seeking a fifth term, is challenged by SP’s Shreya Verma.
  • Banda: BJP’s RK Singh Patel competes with SP’s Krishna Devi Shivshankar Patel.
  • Kaushambi (SC): BJP’s Vinod Kumar Sonkar faces SP’s Pushpendra Saroj.

Assembly Bypoll in Lucknow East

Alongside the Lok Sabha elections, voters in Lucknow East will cast their ballots in an assembly bypoll necessitated by the death of sitting MLA Ashutosh Tandon on November 9, 2023. This bypoll adds another layer of significance to Monday’s voting, with parties vying to secure the seat.


Monday’s voting in Uttar Pradesh’s fifth phase is set to be a pivotal event, shaping the political dynamics not only in the state but also in the national context. With heavyweight candidates and crucial constituencies in the mix, the results will be eagerly awaited, setting the stage for the subsequent phases and the final outcome of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri

At our news portal, we strive to be your go-to destination for staying informed about the latest developments, breaking news, and insightful analysis across a diverse range of topics. Whether you're interested in politics, technology, health, entertainment, or global affairs, we've got you covered with comprehensive coverage and in-depth reporting.

Previous Story

Emergency Landing in Bengaluru: Air India Express Flight Safely Evacuates Passengers After Engine Fire

Next Story

Lai Ching-te Inherits a Strong Foreign Policy Legacy from Tsai Ing-wen

Latest from Blog

Go toTop

Don't Miss

BJP Leaders Strategize Government Formation at JP Nadda’s Residence

Senior BJP leaders, including prominent Union ministers Amit Shah and

Former Delhi Congress Chief Arvinder Singh Lovely Joins BJP Alongside Other Congress Leaders

Former Delhi Congress Chief Arvinder Singh Lovely, who recently resigned