Today: May 27, 2024
May 14, 2024

PM Modi to File Nomination for Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat Amid Grand Support

Prime Minister Narendra Modi to File Nomination from Varanasi: Key Highlights

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to file his nomination from Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency today. This marks his third consecutive bid for this seat, with expectations of securing an even larger victory margin than in previous elections.

Modi’s Deep Connection with Varanasi

Modi expressed his profound bond with Varanasi in a heartfelt post on X, stating, “My relationship with my Kashi is amazing, inseparable, and incomparable… all I can say is that it cannot be expressed in words!” This personal connection with the city, often regarded as the spiritual capital for Hindu pilgrims, continues to play a crucial role in his political journey.

Today’s Schedule in Varanasi

Ahead of his nomination, Modi adhered to a meticulous schedule. He commenced his day with prayers at Dashwamedh Ghat and a ceremonial dip in the River Ganga. He then proceeded to Namo Ghat aboard a cruise ship. The day prior, Modi conducted an elaborate roadshow spanning five kilometers, drawing an enthusiastic crowd of over 100,000 saffron-clad supporters. Accompanying him were Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and BJP state president Chaudhary Bhupendra Singh.

This grand roadshow mirrored a similar event held in 2019, a day before Modi filed his nomination papers for the last Lok Sabha elections.

The Strategic Importance of Varanasi

The Varanasi constituency will participate in the final phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections on June 1, with results slated for June 4. Representing one of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, Varanasi is anticipated to be a stronghold for Modi, largely due to his significant popularity in the Hindi heartland and the BJP’s successful promotion of Hindu cultural heritage, including the construction of the Ram Temple in Ayodhya.

Main Opponents in the Fray

Modi’s primary challenger this election is Ajay Rai, the Uttar Pradesh Congress chief, who is making his third attempt to unseat the Prime Minister in Varanasi. Additionally, a total of 14 candidates have filed their nominations for this key seat, as per the Election Commission’s website. This includes the Bahujan Samaj Party’s 70-year-old Muslim candidate, Ather Jamal Lari, who poses a significant challenge.

A Comedic Contender and Allegations of Bias

Adding an interesting twist to the electoral battle is Shyam Rangeela, an internet sensation known for his comedic impersonations of PM Modi. Rangeela has expressed his desire to contest from Varanasi but claims he is being obstructed from filing his nomination. “This is murder of democracy,” he declared, voicing his frustrations on X. Despite his repeated attempts, Rangeela alleges a lack of response from the Varanasi Election Commission Office.


As Prime Minister Narendra Modi prepares to file his nomination from Varanasi, the city witnesses a blend of fervent support and dynamic political competition. With his deep-rooted connection to the city and the strategic importance of this seat, the upcoming election promises to be a significant event in India’s political landscape.

Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri

At our news portal, we strive to be your go-to destination for staying informed about the latest developments, breaking news, and insightful analysis across a diverse range of topics. Whether you're interested in politics, technology, health, entertainment, or global affairs, we've got you covered with comprehensive coverage and in-depth reporting.

Previous Story

Veteran BJP Leader and Former Bihar Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi Passes Away at 72

Next Story

Delhi Hospitals Receive Bomb Threats Amid String of Hoaxes: Search Operations Underway

Latest from Blog

Go toTop

Don't Miss

“CM Yogi Adityanath Highlights India’s Transformation Under PM Modi’s Leadership”

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath recently addressed a rally

Calcutta HC Nullifies All OBC Certificates Issued Post-2010 in West Bengal

In a landmark ruling, the Calcutta High Court has invalidated