Today: May 27, 2024
May 13, 2024

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Voter Turnout Reaches 39.68% by 1 PM

As the Lok Sabha elections 2024 progress, Uttar Pradesh witnesses a significant voter turnout, reaching 39.68% by 1 PM in the 13 constituencies currently under polling in the state. The Election Commission (EC) reported the polling figures, highlighting the democratic fervor among the electorate.

Polling began promptly at 7 am and is set to conclude at 6 pm, marking an important phase in the seven-phase general elections. Among the constituencies, Akbarpur, Bahraich, Dhaurahra, Etawah, Farrukhabad, Hardoi, Kannauj, Kanpur, Kheri, Misrikh, Shahjahanpur, Sitapur, and Unnao have been actively participating in the electoral process.

This phase is particularly watched for seats like Kannauj, where Samajwadi Party (SP) president Akhilesh Yadav seeks re-election, and Kheri, where Union Minister Ajay Mishra Teni aims for a hat-trick despite controversies surrounding his son’s involvement in the 2021 Lakhimpur Kheri violence case.

With 130 candidates vying for these parliamentary seats, the political landscape is diverse and competitive. Additionally, a bypoll for the Dadraul assembly constituency in Shahjahanpur district is being held due to the demise of BJP MLA Manvendra Singh. Ten candidates are contesting in Dadraul, which recorded 38.45% polling by 1 PM.

The elections have seen diverse participation, with reports of the first vote cast by a physically-challenged voter in Bahraich. District Magistrate Monica Rani highlighted the inclusive nature of the polling, mentioning the active participation of Tharu tribe members and transgender individuals.

Despite challenges such as rains in Lakhimpur Kheri and reports of poll boycott in some villages like Aurangabad over developmental issues, voters have been turning up at polling booths to exercise their franchise.

In this phase, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has re-nominated 11 sitting MPs out of 13, reflecting its confidence in incumbency. Notable candidates include Ramesh Awasthi from Kanpur and Anand Kumar from Bahraich-SC seat. The SP, part of the INDIA bloc, has fielded candidates in 11 Lok Sabha seats, while Congress candidates contest on two seats, Kanpur and Sitapur.

Several BJP candidates eye a consecutive term, including Ajay Mishra (Kheri), Rekha Verma (Dhaurahra), Mukesh Rajput (Farrukhabad), and Devendra Singh alias Bhole (Akbarpur). Moreover, candidates like Rajesh Verma (Sitapur), Ashok Kumar Rawat (Misrikh-SC), and Ram Shankar Katheria (Etawah-SC) seek re-election for multiple terms, showcasing the party’s stronghold in these regions.

The electoral phase in Uttar Pradesh encompasses more than 2.46 crore eligible voters, reflecting the magnitude of democratic engagement and the importance of these elections in shaping the political trajectory of the state and the nation at large.

Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri

At our news portal, we strive to be your go-to destination for staying informed about the latest developments, breaking news, and insightful analysis across a diverse range of topics. Whether you're interested in politics, technology, health, entertainment, or global affairs, we've got you covered with comprehensive coverage and in-depth reporting.

Previous Story

China’s Bad Lending Data Vanishes from Social Media: Investors Left in the Dark

Next Story

Heinemann and BWC Bag Contract to Operate Duty-Free Area at Noida International Airport

Latest from Blog

Go toTop

Don't Miss

“CM Yogi Adityanath Highlights India’s Transformation Under PM Modi’s Leadership”

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath recently addressed a rally

Calcutta HC Nullifies All OBC Certificates Issued Post-2010 in West Bengal

In a landmark ruling, the Calcutta High Court has invalidated