Today: May 27, 2024
May 1, 2024

Modi Kicks Off Election Campaign in Gujarat: Rallies Set Across 11 Seats

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to embark on his election campaign in his home state of Gujarat, starting Wednesday. Over two days, Modi will address six public events, covering 11 Lok Sabha constituencies across the state.

On May 1, coinciding with Gujarat’s foundation day, Modi will deliver speeches at two public gatherings: one in Deesa, Banaskantha, and another in Himmatnagar, Sabarkantha. The event in Deesa will particularly highlight the Lok Sabha seats of Patan and Banaskantha. On May 2, Modi’s itinerary includes gatherings in Anand, Wadhwan in Surendranagar, Junagadh, and Jamnagar, as reported by Moneycontrol.

At these rallies, Modi will rally support for BJP candidates contesting in the Lok Sabha seats of Anand, Kheda, Surendranagar, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Junagadh, Porbandar, Amreli, and Jamnagar.

The BJP, eyeing a hat-trick in Gujarat after sweeping all 26 Lok Sabha seats in 2014 and 2019, has organized a series of public gatherings and rallies throughout the week. Meanwhile, the Congress is striving to make a comeback, starting with an early setback in Surat, where BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal was declared the winner even before the elections.

As the state’s campaigning intensifies, the Congress has scheduled appearances by its prominent figures this week. Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, general secretary of the All India Congress Committee, is set to deliver a speech at a rally in Lakheni Banaskantha on May 3. Additionally, P Chidambaram and Mallikarjun Kharge are gearing up to rally support for transformative votes from the state, as reported by Moneycontrol.

While the BJP is banking on Brand Modi to secure all 26 seats in Gujarat, it faces the challenge of addressing the concerns of Kshatriyas and Rajputs in several constituencies, particularly in the Saurashtra region. BJP officials, however, remain optimistic, downplaying any worries and asserting that the Congress has dwindled from the ground up.

Reports suggest that the primary objectives of BJP rallies are to highlight the goals of Viksit Bharat, showcase achievements from the past decade, and confront the Congress wherever possible.

The ongoing general elections to elect 543 members of the 18th Lok Sabha are being held in seven phases, from April 19 to June 1. Phase 3 voting is slated for May 7, Phase 4 for May 13, Phase 5 for May 20, Phase 6 for May 25, and Phase 7 for June 1. The results will be declared on June 4.

Jhumpa Lahiri

Jhumpa Lahiri

At our news portal, we strive to be your go-to destination for staying informed about the latest developments, breaking news, and insightful analysis across a diverse range of topics. Whether you're interested in politics, technology, health, entertainment, or global affairs, we've got you covered with comprehensive coverage and in-depth reporting.

Previous Story

GST Collections Surge to Record Rs 2.10 Trillion in April 2024, Marking 12.4% Growth

Next Story

Rupali Ganguly and Astrologer Ameya Joshi Join BJP Ahead of LS Polls 2024

Latest from Blog

Go toTop

Don't Miss