Today: July 21, 2024
March 1, 2024

‘Thalapathy’ Vijay Sets Political Stage with Tamizhaga Vetri Kazhagam Party Debut

Tamil cinema’s iconic figure, Joseph Vijay, fondly known as ‘Thalapathy’, has stepped into the political arena with the unveiling of his new party, Tamizhaga Vetri Kazhagam (Tamil Nadu Victorious Association). Vijay confirmed recent speculations about his political foray, announcing that his party will abstain from the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, reserving its debut for the 2026 Tamil Nadu assembly polls.

In his statement, Vijay outlined his vision for a corruption-free, progressive, and secular government, denouncing the prevailing political landscape characterized by divisive rhetoric based on religion and caste. The actor’s decision to venture into politics reflects his commitment to fostering inclusive governance amidst societal fissures.

Vijay’s entry into politics follows a long-standing tradition of Tamil film luminaries transitioning into political leadership. Notably, former chief ministers M.G. Ramachandran (MGR) and J. Jayalalithaa rose to prominence as actors before assuming political office. MGR founded the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), while Jayalalithaa wielded considerable influence within the party. Similarly, M. Karunanidhi, renowned for his screenwriting prowess, played a pivotal role in shaping the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), currently in power in Tamil Nadu.

Vijay’s emergence signifies a continuation of the symbiotic relationship between Tamil cinema and politics, underscoring the influential role of film personalities in shaping the state’s socio-political landscape. As ‘Thalapathy’ embarks on his political journey, he carries the aspirations of millions of fans and the legacy of Tamil Nadu’s cinematic and political luminaries, poised to make a significant impact in the forthcoming elections.

Rajan Shukla

Rajan Shukla

At our news portal, we strive to be your go-to destination for staying informed about the latest developments, breaking news, and insightful analysis across a diverse range of topics. Whether you're interested in politics, technology, health, entertainment, or global affairs, we've got you covered with comprehensive coverage and in-depth reporting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Yami Gautam’s ‘Article 370’ Faces Gulf Ban Amidst Political Controversy

Next Story

Political Landscape Analysis: Anticipating India’s 2024 General Elections

Latest from Blog

Go toTop

Don't Miss

Rural Discontent Costs Modi Decisive Win in Lok Sabha Elections

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi‘s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) faced

Election Commission to Submit List of Winning Lok Sabha Candidates to President: Key Steps to Forming the 18th Lok Sabha

The Election Commission of India, led by Chief Election Commissioner